Rock and Roll Seattle Half Marathon 2011 recap

I came into the race feeling pretty good, though a bit unprepared.  As mentioned before, I didn’t train as much as I normally do before a race.  In spite of that, I ran my personal best and felt great.  The only downside was the starting line for the event.

When I first ran the Seattle Rock and Roll in its inaugural year, I wasn’t pleased with the course, nor organization of the event.  The start in Tukwilla made it challenging from a traffic and shuttle perspective.  That year, my friends and I got dropped off by the side of I5 and we hoofed it to the start line.  Of course, that being the first time they did it, I didn’t think much of it.  Now, a few years later, it’s still pretty much the same.  The kicker is that I’m baffled as to why the start line isn’t near the Tukwilla park and ride / light rail station.  It would seem that the transportation issues could be mitigated by leveraging the existing infrastructure.

Anyway, in spite of the challenges with starting, it all worked out and I ran a great race on a pretty nice day for a run.  Thanks to the organizers and the volunteers for that opportunity.

This entry was posted in race recap. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment